Count The Cost And Your Blessings

For which of you, desiring to build a tower, does not first sit down and count the cost, whether he has enough to complete it?(Luke 14:28 ESV)

Living in Southern part of Nigeria can cause a person to get a little too comfortable. Jesus’ words don’t mean as much to any person who has religious freedom as it would those in countries or places where Christians are being persecuted for their beliefs. How many times have you heard a preacher use this verse when giving the gospel presentation at the end of his message? You probably haven’t. Have you ever used it when telling someone about Jesus? Probably not, because it isn’t a verse often used in the evangelism repertoire.

Did you count the cost when you decided to follow Jesus? After reading this, I decided to look at my life and that of others and ask myself, “What was the cost or is the cost we are pay now for following Jesus? It can be hard to find one. We have friends and family who are Christians. We have our own Christian rock music and t-shirts. I can join a club with people who have the same belief as I do. I then had to ask myself if I am really living the Christian life Jesus described in this passage? After all, I tend to find more blessings and very few cost associated with my belief.

Are you living the cost free “Christian” life?

Leave a Reply

